Wednesday, 9 April 2014

The Uni Files by Anna Bloom Blog Tour - Interview + Giveaway


The Art of Letting Go (The Uni Files - Year One)

The Art of Letting Go (Uni Files #1) by Anna Bloom
NA Romance
Publication Date: 25th September 2013

One year. One woman. One Diary. One question: can you ever stop history from repeating itself and if you could what would you do to stop it?

When Lilah McCannon realises at the age of twenty-five that history is going to repeat itself and she is going to become her mother—bored, drunk and wearing a twinset—there is only one thing to do: take drastic action.

Turning her back on her old life, Lilah’s plan is to enrol at university, get a degree and prove she is a grown-up.

As plans go, it is a good one. There are rules to follow: no alcohol, no cigarettes, no boys and no going home. But when Lilah meets the lead singer of a local band and finds herself unexpectedly falling in love, she realises her rules are not going to be the only things hard to keep.

With the academic year slipping by too quickly, Lilah faces a barrage of new challenges: will she ever make it up the Library stairs without having a heart attack? Can she handle a day on campus without drinking vodka? Will she ever manage to read a history book without falling asleep? And most importantly, can she become the grown-up that she desperately wants to be.

With her head and her heart pulling her in different directions can Lilah learn the hardest lesson that her first year of university has to teach her: The Art of Letting Go?

Book Links



The Art of Keeping Faith (Uni Files #2)

The Art of Keeping Faith (Uni Files #2) by Anna Bloom
NA Romance
Publication Date: 9th April 2014

Lilah and Ben. They are meant to be a thing.

Well they were. The best thing ever. That was until Lilah decided to teach herself a lesson, and let go of Ben as she learnt The Art of Letting Go.

Now it’s a new academic year, and Lilah has it all to play for and it all too lose as she battles scary lecturers, evil PR girls and her own inability to make the right decision at the right time.

Life has moved on for Lilah and her friends, and life off campus is more complicated than any of them would have guessed.  As the reality of being second year students sets in and the study starts to build up, cracks begin to appear in the very fabric of their friendships. There is a chance that none of them are going to complete Year Two in one piece.

Facing down her worst enemy: herself. Lilah has to try and change her own past mistakes when she realises that the only way she is going to get the future she wants is if she manages to learn The Art of Keeping Faith in herself.

The Art of Keeping Faith is the second year in The Uni File Series and continues Lilah McCannon’s diary as she searches for love, tries to find and earn trust, and ultimately discovers who she is really meant to be.

Sometimes the only way to meet your future is to face your past.


Book Links
Goodreads




Excerpt

Tell us a little bit about yourself and your Uni Files series.

Well I am a writer, some of the time. I’m also a mum, wife and I work in a primary school as well. Life is pretty full on for me most of the time, but I wouldn’t change it for anything. The Uni Files came about when I had some time on my hands after my daughter started school. I had these really annoying scenes playing out in my head so on a whim one day I decided to buy an A4 pad, a lever arch file and give writing it all down a go. The Uni Files is a story about a girl in her twenties trying to grow up and find out who she is. Along the way she makes some friends, meets a guy, falls in love. But real life is not always easy, as my characters prove!


What was the inspiration behind the Uni Files series?

As I said, I had lots of scenes and stories playing out in my head and they all seem to be centred around my old University. At the time I was thinking about going back to finish of the Masters I had started a few years before. I guess ultimately the Uni itself was a huge inspiration, along with that whimsical idea of being twenty-something again and doing it all over. A what if? If you like.


Which of your characters was the most fun to write?

Lilah, my main character. I had fun writing all of them, especially Ben her love and Tristan the Arse her twin brother. I loved writing the friendships and dynamics of a friendship group. But ultimately if I had to narrow it down to one it would be Lilah. She’s just so crazy, and really can’t help herself. She is a walking accident waiting to happen, and I like the vulnerability she shows while at the same time being so determined and strong.


What's one thing you hope readers take away from your books?

This is going to sound really cheesy, but I hope that readers take away a belief in real love. That’s what I tried to write. It was never going to be all roses and perfect, but at the same time I never wanted to go over dramatic. I wanted to write the way I truly believe love is, this perfect compatibility with someone and that it doesn’t matter what gets in your way, love is always worth trying to keep hold of. A lesson Lilah learns the hard way,


Do you have a favourite place to write? Or a place you like to go for inspiration?

I don’t have a favourite place but I do like sunshine. I definitely write best parked in front of a sunny window or even better out on the grass with my laptop on my lap. I live in England, so it’s not always possible


If you could spend a day with any author (living or deceased) who would it be and what would you do?

Jane Austen. I would ask her how she managed to observe so much of her society and how it felt deconstructing it like she did on the page, so that a hundred odd years later we can still understand the tensions and inequalities of her environment like we are living it ourselves. I would also want to know if she ever fantasised about her leading men;)


What are you currently working on, and what do you have planned for the future?

At the moment I am working on a non Uni File book called Gone. It’s completely different in tone and as such I am spending a huge amount of time on it, ensuring it perfectly makes the statement I want it to.

I am also – over the summer probably – going to write the last and final Uni File Book. I’m not releasing any details yet but it’s going to take the story and the characters to another level and hopefully tie it all up so that readers who love Ben and Lilah end on a satisfied high!
 
Thank you so much for interviewing me and taking part in the tour.
A.B


Thank you, Anna! I loved reading your answers! :)


Author Bio - Anna Bloom


Anna Bloom
Anna Bloom is a contemporary romance writer who writes about life as it happens. Combining a busy schedule of looking after two small children whilst working in a local school and completing The Uni Files series. Anna’s main aim in life is to create the perfect book which makes a reader laugh and cry at the same time, hopefully causing a convulsive (impossible to ignore) donkey noise. It’s a work in progress!  Anna also spends a lot of time imagining kissing hot guys – all in the name of her art.





Author Links



Tour-Wide Giveaway



A signed paperback copy of The Art of Letting Go + e-copies of all the other books in the series.
A 50$ Amazon gift card
A unique one off Uni Files ring.

-US & UK Only
-Ends 22nd April 2014

a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment